Date: 25/02/2016

New Members of the AmCham Board of Governors Elected

At the Fourteenth Annual General Assembly Meeting, at which the results of work done in the past year were presented, representatives of member companies voted to elect a President, First Vice President and three Untitled members of the Board of Governors.

Over 200 representatives of AmCham member companies and guests from the business community, the diplomatic corps and the media were present at the event. Zoran Petrović, CEO of Raiffeisen Bank, was elected President and Jelena Pavlović from Philip Morris International was elected First Vice Presdent. Representatives of the member companies chose three new untitled members of the Board: Diana Gligorijević of TeleGroup, Branko Mitrović from Telenor and Boris Vujičić of Trizma.

Presenting a report on the work of the organization in 2015, Zoran Petrović emphasized the contribution of the AmCham Committees: "We made great strides in the areas of a legal framework for the fight against the gray economy, reducing the administrative burden and cutting costs for building permits and improving the liquidity of the economy. During the last year, the Law on Inspection Control was passed, which reflects the suggestions of our Committee for the fight against the gray economy and provides an effective mechanism for better coordination of inspection services. These are just some of the more than 30 regulations that AmCham has advocated. "

Petrović announced that this year the focus will be on improving the draft amendments to the Bankruptcy Law, the Law on Public Procurement and the completion of the reform of para-fiscal charges, as well as to support capacity building for effective implementation of the Law on Inspection Control. With last year's 27 new members and a record membership retention of 92 per cent, AmCham is a proven platform for business development and networking of members.