Date: 11/02/2010

New Members of the Board of Governors of American Chamber of Commerce in Serbia Elected

At the 9th Annual General Assembly of the American Chamber of Commerce in Serbia (AmCham), member companies elected four new members of the organization’s Board of Governors

On a decision of the majority of the member companies, Skip Bornhuetter, Area Director of Philip Morris International for South East Europe was elected to the position of Board President. Vladan Živanović, General Manager of Microsoft Serbia was elected First-Vice President, while Matthew Perkins, General Director of U. S. Steel Serbia, will serve as Second Vice-President. For the position of Untitled Governor, member companies elected Borislav Miljanović, Managing Director of McCann Erickson Public Relations.

"Without question, 2009 was a very challenging year for Serbia. AmCham future efforts will tackle further development of open and more substantial dialogue between business sector and the Serbian Government, adequate involvement of the private sector in the drafting process of new laws, as well as modernization of regulatory frame.", said newly elected President Skip Bornhuetter.

Addressing member companies of AmCham, the U.S. Ambassador to Serbia, HE Mary Warlick, stated that strong economic and commercial ties are critical to the U.S.-Serbia bilateral relationship. Ambassador Warlick stressed the U.S. Embassy's intention to work closely with the AmCham to ensure that the optimum conditions are created to attract and protect foreign investment in Serbia.

The Board of Governors of the American Chamber of Commerce comprises nine members, responsible for defining the strategy and implementing guidelines for AmCham. According to the Constitution of American Chamber of Commerce, members of the association elect half of the seats on Board of Governors each year, in order to provide continuous functioning of the organization. Click here for photo gallery of the event.

In addition, Jelena Kralj (Pedersen and Partners), Gustavo Navarro (Holcim), Gabriel Dina (Merck Sharp and Dohme), Marko Mićanović (Altis Capital), and Zoran Petrović (Raiffeisen bank), will continue to serve as Board members.